Breaking News

Implemented works

 

Phase 1 and 2 (380 Ha) 

The objective of TAPARURA site improvement concerns “the cleanup and rehabilitation of the north coasts of the City of Sfax.” These works are a single batch and the main components are the following:

 Excavation of the phosphogypsum plate

The deposit of phosphogypsum is surrounded by a plate covering an area of ​​approximately 90ha and whose volume was
estimated at 1.1 million m3. The spatial and vertical area of the phosphogypsum plate was determined and confirmed by the company before starting the excavation works. These works were carried out by SOMATRA / GET Company. The excavation of the plate is carried out through isolated compartments. In this way, it is easier to pump the inland waters and the non-excavated limits enable access from one area of the site to another.

Under water excavation

 Under water excavation works were carried out ​​by JAN DE NUL Company specializing in maritime works. The used material consists in two stations each consisting of a backhoe mounted on a pier and a barge. The barges are moved by means of a tug.
The backhoes are equipped with sophisticated and precise computer systems for the follow-up of underwater excavation operations of contaminated materials. Besides, these backhoes are equipped with a high performance positioning system. These systems enable operators to visualize the shovel bucket of the machine on a computer screen mounted in the cabin.          The excavated materials are placed in the barges that are routed to a temporary pier once they are filled. At the quay, a giant shovel with a long arm enables the transfer of materials in the dumpers. The latter carry the materials to the phosphogypsum deposit where they are drained and spread out.

Dry excavation and breakwaters construction

Dry excavation works are carried out ​​by SOMATRA-GET Company through the use of earth-moving engines and equipment. These works include the excavation of contaminated soils located within the contractual line separating the dry excavation from the underwater one.

 All dry excavated material of the phosphogypsum plate or of the contaminated soil of the site were taken to the phosphogypsum deposit where they were placed and deposited in successive layers.

 To enable the dry excavation of the above-mentioned areas and the hydraulic fill works, main breakwaters on the sea side have been constructed by the company. These breakwaters limit to some extent the site on the seaside and help protect the downstream area against currents and swells. Other secondary breakwaters have also been constructed. A pumping system was set up to pump the pools water behind the main breakwater towards the sea to dry them up. These breakwaters equally allow access to different parts of the site and facilitate the pumping in areas to be cleaned up. All construction works of the breakwaters are completed.

Deposit remodeling

The Consortium began the work of remodeling the phosphogypsum deposit, from the second fortnight of September 2006, in the form of a cone trunk having a diameter of 880 m wide and a height of 16 m. Given the reduction in the quantities of contaminated soil, it was decided in agreement with Supervision Mission and the Technical Assistance Mission to reduce the diameter of the phosphogypsum deposit to only 810 m and to implement it in two platforms.

 Works for the isolation of phosphogypsum deposit

 Barrier construction

The phosphogypsum deposit and the polluted underlying soils will be isolated through the use of a waterproof barrier made ​ up of a 0.6 m-wide trench filled with a mixture of bentonite – cement in which a 3 mm-thick high-density polyethylene (HDPE) sheet is inserted. This barrier will extend from the backfill platform up to the clay layer situated at a depth of 11 to 13 m from the projected level of the ground.
The construction of the barrier started on July 3, 2008.
With a view to protecting the barrier and to drain the runoff to the drainage ditch, SOMATRA-GET Company started the construction works of the head of the barrier in December 2008.

Pumping system

The barrier system – exhaustion system- must always maintain the level of the groundwater inside the area of the phosphogypsum deposit below the level of the groundwater outside the barrier. This condition is important to avoid any possibility of pollutants spreading to the outside of the barrier.

According to the current plans, the groundwater is pumped from a level located below the clay layer, which is located below the deposit.

After having implemented two pumping tests, 105 geotechnical investigation drilling tests, 22 piezometers and processing of test results, the choice was to increase the number of pumping wells from 7 as indicated in the contractual plans to 10 and a drain was also to be set up around the deposit inside the barrier.

 The pumping rate of the 10 wells is 5 m3 / h.

 The effect of the pumping system on the groundwater is continuously monitored by 50 piezometers installed on the deposit, as well as on both sides near the barrier.

Drainage system

This system was not planned in the contract. It was added following the new conditions of permeability of subsoil. It is designed to ensure that the level of the groundwater does not exceed the level specified in the vicinity of the deposit. The drainage system will lead to a quicker initial lowering of the water table inside the barrier. When the specified groundwater level is reached inside the entire deposit, the drainage system will catch only the runoff from exceptional rainfall for a limited period.

Hydraulic fill

In conformity with the schedule of work progress submitted by the Consortium, the latter conducted on September 24, 2007 the hydraulic fill works to have a field to reclaim from the sea, and whose surface will be about of 380 H. The amount of sand needed for the creation of this platform is about 7 million m 3. The borrowing lodging identified by the pre-project studies is located at the Canal of Kerkennah (see site location below), limited in the west by the herbarium, in the east by the Kerkennah plateau, and in the north and south by the isobaths -10m NGT.

  The hydraulic fill includes:

  •   Borrowing sand
  •  Discharging sand
  • Spreading out sand to the required levels
  • Compacting the sand to the prescribed densities in the contract in the areas where compaction can be carried out

 For the discharge of dredging sand, a system of floating and land delivery mains has been installed. The dredge is located in the basin of the Commercial Port opposite the quay of the Tunisian Chemical Group (GCT). Floating pipes of Ø900 mm have been installed in the basin. Land pipes have been installed above the railway located along the basin and under the pavement of the beach road.

 In the work site area, land pipes have been installed in order to discharge the dredged sand directly on the backfilling site. The setting up of the land pipes in the work site area will be changed as soon as the setting up of the hydraulic fill progresses.

The hydraulic fill works can be considered as cycles that repeat continuously 24H/24H.

 Three main tasks that can be distinguished in the hydraulic fill are:

  •  Sand extraction
  • Sand transport
  • Sand discharge

For the basins north of the backfilling, and given the importance of the discharge distance, a provisional stock of materials was placed near the dredge to transport it by land to the basins to be backfilled.

Construction works of drainage canal

The implementation plans relating to the covered part of the drainage canal in precast culvert prepared by the Consulting company LCI, subcontractor of JES, have been approved by the Supervision Mission as well as by the Supervising Bureau Veritas. The prefabrication of culverts was conducted during the month of October 2007.

 Meetings and contacts were held with the various stakeholders (SNCFT, OMMP, CPG, ONAS, SONEDE, STEG, Tunisie Telecom …) in order to ensure the required coordination with regard to the right-of-way and the deviation of networks.

The Supervising Bureau VERITAS ensures the technical control of the covered part of this canal as part of a decennial insurance as a work under railway track.

Completion of works for coast protection

The jetties are used for two purposes:

-   Prevent the transported sediments which come from the North to settle on the beaches. In the absence of jetties, these sediments, consisting of fine particles, lead to the silting up of the beach.

-   Avoid the recovery of sand from the new coast through transport capacity, sediments halted by the jetty, thus contributing to the stability of the beach.

The construction works of the jetties are carried out by SOMATRA GET Company through the use of land and sea engines and equipments. The works started in late 2007 with the setting up of seven (7) jetties along the new coast line from the Commercial Port of Sfax up to the Canal of Oued Ezzit.

Phase 3 (40 Ha) 

 The Environmental  Follow-up of the Taparura site during and after works

Given the importance of environmental aspects of the project, some ambitious programs have been established. They include in particular:

1 Radiological follow-up of the site and workers during and after works

The Centre National de Radioprotection (National Centre for Radiation Protection (CNRP)), the Centre National des Sciences et Technologies Nucléaires (National Center for Nuclear Sciences and Technology (CNSTN)) and the French Company ALGADE have been hired to carry out radiation monitoring program of the site before, during and after works. This program includes the following activities:

• Analysis of the initial situation of the site

• Radiological monitoring of the environment

• Radiological monitoring of workers

• Analysis of the final situation

2 Follow-up of the quality of surface water and groundwater at the site

In this respect, follow-up campaigns have been conducted by two different laboratories in order to analyze the following parameters: ALCONTROL (Belgium): pH / conductivity / Arsenic / Cadmium / Chrome / Mercury / Lead / Copper / Nickel / Zinc: every two weeks. CITET (Tunisia): pH / Temperature / Conductivity / Salinity / Color / NTK / Nitrate / Phosphorus T / Chlorophyll a / Arsenic / Cadmium / Chrome / Lead / Nickel / Zinc: on a monthly basis.

3 Follow-up of sea water quality and ecology in the deposit of the marine backfill during dredging operations

The environmental follow-up program in the Kerkennah canal consists of the following:

Analysis of water quality
• 10 sampling stations

• Samples at 1 and 5 m of depth

• Sampling before, during and at the end of the dredging period

• Analysis of material in suspension

Surface follow-up

• Distribution of the herbarium (area and fragmentation) through the analysis of satellite images before and after the dredging campaign

• Indication of five model areas for characterization Characterization of the vegetation and macro benthos met per quadra from 1m ² to 0.4 m².

4 Follow-up of the quality of sea water and ecology along the coast of the project during the dredging operations

At the level of the coast of the project area, the environmental follow-up consists in the following:

Analysis of water quality:

• Three stations 700m away from one another located at 1km from the future beach

• Sampling before, during and at the end of the dredging period

• Weekly sampling and analysis during the backfilling works

• Analysis of suspended material Characterization of vegetation and macro benthos met per quadra of 1m ² or 0.4 m²

Dernières nouvelles

Travaux Réalisée

 

Phase 1 et 2 (380 Ha)

L’objectif de l’assainissement du site Taparura concerne « les travaux de dépollution et de réhabilitation des côtes nord de la ville de Sfax ». Ces travaux constituent un lot unique et les principales composantes sont les suivantes:

Excavation de la plaque de phosphogypse

Le dépôt de phosphogypse est entouré d’une plaque couvrant une surface d’environ 90 ha et dont le volume a été estimé à environ 1,1 millions de m3.

L’étendue spatiale et verticale de la plaque de phosphogypse a été déterminée et confirmée par l’entreprise avant d’entamer les travaux d’excavation. Ces travaux ont été réalisés par l’entreprise SOMATRA/GET.

L’excavation de la plaque s’effectue suivant des compartiments isolés. De cette manière, il est plus facile de pomper les eaux internes  et les limites non excavées permettent l’accès d’une zone à une autre du chantier.

Excavation sous l’eau 

Les travaux d’excavation sous l’eau ont été réalisés par l’entreprise JAN DE NUL spécialiste dans les travaux maritimes. Le matériel utilisé est formé de deux plateformes constituées chacune d’une pelle mécanique montée sur un ponton et un chaland. Les chalands sont déplacés moyennant un remorqueur.

Les pelles mécaniques sont dotées de systèmes informatiques très sophistiqués et précis pour le suivi des opérations d’excavation des matériaux pollués sous l’eau. En plus ces pelles sont munies d’un système de positionnement de haute performance. Ces systèmes permettent aux opérateurs des pelles mécaniques de visualiser le godet de l’engin sur un écran d’ordinateur monté dans la cabine.   Les matériaux excavés sont placés dans les chalands qui sont acheminés vers un quai provisoire une fois remplis. Au niveau du quai, une pelle géante à bras long permet le transfert des matériaux dans les dumpers. Ces derniers acheminent les matériaux vers le dépôt de phosphogypse où ils sont asséchés et étalés.

Excavation à sec et construction des digues

Les travaux d’excavation à sec sont réalisés par l’entreprise SOMATRA-GET utilisant des engins et des équipements de terrassement. Ces travaux comprennent l’excavation des sols pollués situés à l’intérieur de la ligne contractuelle séparant l’excavation à sec de celle qui se fait sous l’eau.

Tous les matériaux excavés à sec de la plaque de phosphogypse ou bien des sols  pollués du site ont été acheminés sur le dépôt de phosphogypse où ils sont  placés et étalés en des couches successives.

Pour permettre l’excavation à sec des zones précitées et pour les travaux de remblai hydraulique, des digues principales d’enceinte côté mer ont été construites par l’entreprise. Ces digues limitent en quelques sortes le site du côté mer et permettent de protéger la zone en aval contre les courants marins et les houles. Des digues secondaires ont été également construites. Un système de pompage a été mis en œuvre pour pomper l’eau des bassins situés derrière la digue principale vers la mer en vue de leur assèchement. Ces digues permettent également l’accès aux différentes parties du site et facilitent le pompage dans les zones à dépolluer. Tous les travaux de construction des digues sont achevés.

Remodelage du dépôt 

Le groupement d’entreprise a commencé les travaux de remodelage du dépôt de phosphogypse, à partir de la deuxième quinzaine du mois de septembre 2006, sous forme de tronc de cône ayant un diamètre de grande base de 880 m et une hauteur de 16 m. Au vu de la diminution des quantités de sols pollués, il a été décidé en commun accord avec la mission de Supervision et la mission d’Assistance Technique de réduire le diamètre du dépôt de phosphogypse à 810 m seulement et de le réaliser en deux plateformes .

Travaux d’isolement du dépôt de phosphogypse 

Construction de l’écran                        

Le dépôt de phosphogypse et les sols sous-jacents pollués seront isolés par un écran étanche constitué d’une tranchée de 0.6 m de large remplie d’un mélange en bentonite-ciment dans lequel viendra s’insérer une feuille en PEHD de 3 mm d’épaisseur. Cet écran s’étendra du niveau de la plateforme de remblai jusqu’au niveau de la couche d’argile se trouvant à des profondeurs de 11 à 13 m par rapport au niveau projeté du terrain.

La  construction de l’écran a débuté le 3 juillet 2008.

Afin de protéger l’écran et pour permettre l’évacuation des eaux de ruissellement vers le fossé de drainage, l’entreprise SOMATRA-GET a commencé en décembre 2008 les travaux de réalisation de la tête de l’écran.

    Système de pompage

Le système écran – système d’épuisement doit toujours maintenir le niveau de la nappe à l’intérieur de l’emprise du dépôt du phosphogypse en dessous du niveau de la nappe à l’extérieur de l’écran. Cette condition est importante pour éviter toute possibilité de propagation des polluants vers l’extérieur de l’écran.

Selon les plans en vigueur, l’eau souterraine sera pompée d’un niveau situé au dessous de la couche d’argile, qui se trouve au dessous du dépôt.

Après la réalisation de deux tests de pompage, de 105 forages d’investigations géotechniques, de 22 piézomètres et  de traitements des résultats des essais, il a été décidé d’augmenter le nombre de puits de pompage de 7 comme indiqué dans les plans contractuels à 10.  L’installation d’un drain autour du dépôt à l’intérieur de l’écran s’est révélée également indispensable.

Le débit de pompage des 10 puits est de 5 m3/h.

L’effet du système de pompage sur les nappes est surveillé en continue avec 50 piézomètres installés sur le dépôt; ainsi que de part et d’autre à proximité de l’écran.

    Système de drainage

Ce système de drainage n’était pas prévu dans le marché, il a été ajouté en conséquence de nouvelles conditions de perméabilités des sous-sols. Il est conçu pour garantir que le niveau de la nappe ne dépasse pas le niveau spécifié à proximité du dépôt.

Le système de drainage causera un rabattement initial plus rapide de la nappe à l’intérieur de l’écran. Lorsque  le niveau de la nappe spécifié est atteint à l’intérieur du dépôt entier, le

système de drainage captera uniquement les eaux de ruissellement des pluies exceptionnelles pendant une période limitée.

Travaux de remblai hydraulique
Conformément au planning d’avancement des travaux présenté par le groupement d’entreprises, ce dernier a procédé le 24 septembre  2007, aux travaux de remblai hydraulique pour la création du terrain à gagner aux dépens de la mer dont la surface sera de l’ordre de 380 H. La quantité de sable nécessaire pour la création de cette plateforme est  d’environ 7 millions de m 3. Le gîte d’emprunt identifié par les études d’avant projet se trouve au niveau du canal de Kerkennah (voir localisation du site ci-dessous), limité à l’ouest par la limite des herbiers, à l’est par le plateau de Kerkennah, et au nord et au sud par les isobathes  -10m NGT.

Les travaux de remblai hydraulique comprennent :

  •   Emprunt du sable
  •   Refoulement du sable
  • Etalage du sable aux niveaux requis
  • Compactage du sable aux densités prescrites dans le contrat dans les zones où le compactage peut être réalisé

Pour le refoulement du sable de dragage, un système de conduites flottantes et terrestres est installé. La drague se positionne dans le bassin du port de commerce en face du quai du Groupe Chimique Tunisien. Des conduites flottantes de Ø900 mm ont été installées dans le bassin. Les conduites terrestres ont été installées au-dessus du chemin de fer qui se trouve le long du bassin et sous la chaussée de la route de la Plage.

Dans l’emprise du chantier, des conduites terrestres ont été  installées afin de pouvoir refouler le sable de dragage directement sur les lieux de remblaiement. L’implantation des conduites terrestres dans l’emprise du chantier sera modifiée au fur et à mesure de la progression de la mise en place du remblai hydraulique.

Les travaux de remblai hydraulique peuvent être considérés comme des cycles qui se répètent continuellement 24H/24H.
Trois tâches principales peuvent être distinguées dans le remblai hydraulique :

  •  L’extraction du sable
  •  Le transport du sable
  •  Refoulement du sable

Pour les bassins Nord de remblaiement, et vu l’importance de la distance de refoulement, un stock provisoire de matériaux a été placé prés de la drague afin de le transporter par voie terrestre vers les bassins à remblayer.

Travaux de construction du canal de drainage
Les plans d’éxécutions relatifs à la partie couverte du canal de drainage en dalot préfabriqué préparés par le bureau d’études LCI sous traitant de JES, les plans d’exécution relatifs à la partie couverte du canal de drainage en dalot préfabriqué sont approuvés par la Mission de supervision ainsi que par le bureau de contrôle VERITAS. La préfabrication des dalots a été réalisée au cours du mois  d’Octobre 2007.

Des réunions et des contacts ont été organisés avec les différents intervenants (SNCFT, OMMP, CPG, ONAS, SONEDE, STEG, Tunisie Télécom, …) et ce pour assurer la coordination nécessaire en ce qui concerne le droit de passage et la déviation des réseaux.

Le bureau de contrôle VERITAS assure le contrôle technique de la partie couverte de ce canal dans le cadre d’assurance décennale en tant qu’ouvrage sous voie ferrée.

Réalisation des ouvrages  de protection de la côte
Les épis ont deux objectifs :

- Empêcher les sédiments transportés qui arrivent du Nord de se déposer sur les plages. En l’absence d’épi, ces sédiments, qui sont constitués de particules fines, entraîneront l’envasement de la plage.

- Eviter la reprise du sable de la nouvelle côte par la capacité de transport, les sédiments arrêtés par l’épi, contribuant ainsi à la stabilité de la plage.

Les travaux de réalisation des épis sont effectués par l’entreprise SOMATRA-GET qui utilise des engins et des équipements terrestres et maritimes. Les travaux ont démarré depuis fin 2007 avec l’exécution de 7 épis le long de la nouvelle ligne de côte allant du port de commerce de Sfax jusqu’au canal Oued Ezzit.

Phase  3 (40 Ha)

Travaux de remblaiement de la zone située en face du théâtre estival de Sfax:

L’aménagement du carrefour giratoire PK4:

Suivi environnemental de la zone TAPARURA avant et pendant les travaux :

Vu l’importance des aspects  environnementaux du projet,  des programmes ambitieux ont été établis et  qui consistent notamment en :

1.     Suivi radiologique du site et des travailleurs pendant et après les travaux

Le Centre National de Radioprotection (CNRP), le Centre National des Sciences et Technologies Nucléaires (CNSTN) et la société française ALGADE ont été engagés pour réaliser un programme de surveillance radiologique du site avant, pendant et après les travaux. Ce programme comprend les activités suivantes :

  •   Analyse de la situation initiale du chantier
  •  Surveillance radiologique de l’environnement
  •  Surveillance radiologique des travailleurs
  •  Analyse de la situation finale

2.      Suivi de la qualité des eaux de surface et de la nappe dans le site

Dans ce cadre, des  campagnes de suivi ont été réalisées par deux  laboratoires différents en vue d’analyser les paramètres suivants :

ALCONTROL (Belgique) : pH/ conductivité/ Arsenic/ NTK/ Cadmium/ Chrome/ Mercure/ Plomb/ Cuivre/ Nickel/ Zinc et ce chaque deux  semaines.

CITET (Tunisie) : pH/ température/ Conductivité/ Salinité/ Couleur / NTK / Nitrate / Phosphore T/ Chlorophylle a / Arsenic/ Cadmium/ Chrome/ Plomb / Nickel / Zinc et ce chaque mois.

3.      Suivi de la qualité des eaux de mer et de l’écologie dans le gîte du remblai marin   pendant les opérations de dragage

Le programme de suivi environnemental dans le canal de Kerkennah consiste en ce qui suit :

  • Analyse de la qualité d’eau

·         10 stations de prélèvement

·         Échantillons à 1 et 5 m de profondeur

·         Prélèvements avant, pendant et à la fin de la période de dragage

·         Analyse des matériaux en suspension

  • Suivi surfacique

·         Distribution de l’herbier (étendue et fragmentation) par analyse des images satellites avant et après la campagne de dragage

·         Indication de 5 endroits modèles pour caractérisation

  • Caractérisation de la végétation et macro benthos rencontrés par quadra de 1m² à 0,4m².

4.      Suivi de la qualité des eaux de mer et de l’écologie le long du littoral du projet pendant les opérations de dragage

Au niveau du littoral de la zone du projet, le suivi environnemental consiste en ce qui suit :

  • Analyse de la qualité d’eau :

·         Trois stations distantes de 700m localisées à 1km de la future plage

·         Prélèvements avant, pendant et à la fin de la période de dragage

·         Prélèvements et analyses chaque semaine pendant les travaux de remblaiement

·         Analyse des matériaux en suspension

    • Caractérisation de la végétation et macro benthos rencontrées par quadrat de 1m² ou 0,4m²